The Swiss psychiatrist Dr. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross is famous for her description of the different stages of mourning. In this painting, they are imagined as the 4 seasons. The grief process, just like the cycle of fall, winter, spring and summer, cannot be forced, speeded up or be stowed away. The tribes are the constant (the man), the birds the thoughts that change color during the process and the plants the feeling that slowly stabilizes. ‘ Time heals all wounds ‘.

Product Details
  • Title: Cycle of Mourning
  • Artist: Jaf’r
  • Year: 2015
  • Technique: Acrylic
  • Material: Canvas
  • Size: 100 x 180 cm
  • Price and availability: mail us at

Toyism Paintings

Toyism paintings are nothing if not bizarre but recognizable imageries drawn from reality, the surreal, and fantasy. The intense play of lines, shapes, dots and colors is intended to help open the viewer’s mind. And to critical thinking about the human condition in the present day world. Toyism is figurative, contemporary and based on a story. These stories can cover all kinds of subjects, from happy to critical or serious subjects. Toyism paintings are very labour intensive. Every painting consist of several layers of paint. Making the colours bright and vibrant and able to withstand the test of time.

Paintings are created by a mixed group of professional artists from around the world with diverse cultural backgrounds and working in various disciplines. Yet all artists have a like-minded view of how to experience this art and inspire each other. No matter their own backgrounds or beliefs, everyone can express themselves in this style without losing their own value or feeling. Therefore every toyist can influence and enrich the style. Hence toyists tell their own story and depict it.

View more paintings


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “THE CYCLE OF MOURNING (painting)”